2016 General Election Candidates: Limerick City

Limerick City is the base of two ministers: Finance Minister Michael Noonan of Fine Gael and Education Minister Jan O'Sullivan of Labour. Noonan's 34 year career as a TD is unlikely to come to an end by anything other than his retirement, but with Labour's poll numbers as low as they are, will O'Sullivan keep her seat? Fianna Fáil's Willie O'Dea looks safe, and he is his party's only candidate.

Sinn Féin are running Cllr. Maurice Quinlivan, who received 8.6% of the vote in 2011, while the AAA-PBP are running Cllr. Cian Prendeville, who polled 1.7% - though that was before the surge in support for the anti-austerity parties. The Social Democrats and the Greens have candidates as well.

TDs elected in 2011:
Michael Noonan (FG), Kieran O'Donnell (FG), Willie O'Dea (FF), Jan O'Sullivan (Lab)

2016 Candidates:
Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Candidates in italics are sitting TDs.
Click on a party or group's name to see their other candidates.

Nora Bennis

James Gaffney

Desmond Hayes

Sarah Jane Hennelly

Michael Noonan
Outgoing TD
Willie O’Dea
Outgoing TD
Kieran O’Donnell
Outgoing TD
Jan O’Sullivan
Outgoing TD
Cian Prendeville
Maurice Quinlivan
Denis Riordan