2016 General Election Candidates: Offaly

Other constituencies in Leinster:

See constituencies in:
Connacht & Ulster | Munster | Dublin

Even with their disastrous national performance in the 2011 general election, Fianna Fáil still maintained enough support in Offaly for Barry Cowen to win the seat left by his brother, the outgoing Taoiseach, and for Seán Fleming to keep his Laois-based seat. With those two counties now in separate constituencies, Cowen needed a new running mate to ensure two Fianna Fáil seats, and Cllr. Eddie Fitzpatrick is the person hoping to benefit from his transfers. Fine Gael are only running TD Marcella Corcoran Kennedy, while Labour are not running anyone here as of yet.

Sinn Féin, Renua Ireland, the Irish Democratic Party and two independent candidates are also running.

TDs elected in 2011:
Laois-Offaly (5 seats):
Charles Flanagan (FG), Marcella Corcoran Kennedy (FG), Barry Cowen (FF), Brian Stanley (SF), Seán Fleming (FF)

2016 Candidates:
Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Candidates in italics are sitting TDs.
Click on a party or group's name to see their other candidates.

OFFALY (3 seats)
Kate Bopp

Marcella Corcoran Kennedy
Outgoing TD
Barry Cowen
Outgoing TD
Christopher Fettes

Eddie Fitzpatrick
John Foley
Joe Hannigan
Ken Smollen

John Leahy
Carol Nolan
Teresa Ryan-Feehan