2016 General Election Candidates: Meath East

Fine Gael TD Shane McEntee's death in 2012 meant a by-election a few months later which saw his daughter Helen keep his seat. She, along with fellow party TD Regina Doherty and Labour's Dominic Hannigan, will be looking to hold on in the face of challenges by Sinn Féin, the Social Democrats, the Direct Democracy-National Citizen's Movement, the Workers' Party and the Greens as well as independent Sharon Keogan.

TDs elected in 2011:
Dominic Hannigan (Lab), Regina Doherty (FG), Shane McEntee (FG)
2013 by-election to fill Shane McEntee's seat: Helen McEntee (FG)

2016 Candidates:
Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Candidates in italics are sitting TDs.
Click on a party or group's name to see their other candidates.

MEATH EAST (3 seats)
Joe Bonner

Thomas Byrne
Regina Doherty
Outgoing TD
Ben Gilroy

Dominic Hannigan
Outgoing TD
Sharon Keogan

Seamus McDonagh

Helen McEntee
Outgoing TD
Seán Ó Buachalla

Aisling O’Neill

Darren O’Rourke
Sarah Tyrell