2016 General Election Candidates: Dublin Central

See constituencies in:
Connacht & Ulster | Leinster | Munster

The former stomping ground of Bertie Ahern, Dublin Central has been reduced to three seats and is now the smallest constituency by area. The loss of a seat must be a worry to the four incumbents: Sinn Féin's Mary Lou McDonald can expect to keep her seat, so it looks like it will be either Labour's Joe Costello, Fine Gael's Paschal Donohoe or independent Maureen O'Sullivan who may lose out. Former Fianna Fáil candidate Mary Fitzpatrick, who was famously undermined by Bertie Ahern before the 2007 general election, is running as the sole Fianna Fáil candidate, while former Lord Mayor Christy Burke is running as an independent.

TDs elected in 2011: 
Paschal Donohoe (FG), Joe Costello (Lab), Maureen O'Sullivan (IND), Mary Lou McDonald (SF)

2016 Candidates:
Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Candidates in italics are sitting TDs.
Click on a party or group's name to see their other candidates.

Offices Held
Christy Burke
Joe Costello
Outgoing TD
Paschal Donohoe
Outgoing TD
Mary Fitzpatrick
Former Councillor
Gary Gannon
Jacqui Gilbourne

William D.J. Gorman

Kerry Guinan

Mary Lou McDonald
Outgoing TD
Cormac McKay

Diana O’Dwyer

Maureen O’Sullivan
Outgoing TD
Cieran Perry
Eilís Ryan
Ian Noel Smyth