2016 General Election Candidates: Donegal

Other constituencies in Connacht & Ulster:

See constituencies in:
Munster | Leinster | Dublin

Donegal has been unified into one constituency for the first time since 1981. Dinny McGinley's retirement means that there are five TDs from the old Donegal North East and South West constituencies vying for five seats in this new constituency.

Sinn Féin have identified Donegal as a potential source of huge support, with a third candidate joining their two outgoing TDs - the highest number of candidates the party have run in any one constituency. Former Fianna Fáil TD Pat the Cope Gallagher is hoping to reclaim a seat, while Fine Gael have not nominated anyone else to run alongside TD Joe McHugh. Labour have not run a candidate in Donegal, though they may do so after the new year.

TDs elected in 2011:
Donegal North East (3 seats):
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (SF), Joe McHugh (FG), Charlie McConalogue (FF)

Donegal South West (3 seats):
Pearse Doherty (SF), Dinny McGinley (FG), Thomas Pringle (IND)

2016 Candidates:
Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Candidates in italics are sitting TDs.
Click on a party or group's name to see their other candidates.

DONEGAL (5 seats)
Gary Doherty
Pearse Doherty
Outgoing TD
Pat the Cope Gallagher
Former TD and MEP
Cordelia Nic Fhearraigh

Paula Flanagan

Paddy Harte Jr.

Tim Jackson

Niamh Kennedy
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn
Outgoing TD
Frank McBrearty
Charlie McConalogue
Outgoing TD
Ian McGarvey
Joe McHugh
Outgoing TD
Michael Mooney

Thomas Pringle
Outgoing TD
Dessie Shiels