Women in the Oireachtas: Dáil Éireann (1918 - 1932)

Constance Markiewicz became the first woman elected to the Dáil in 1918 - and at that time, the only woman. She served as Minister for Labour in the revolutionary government from 1919 to 1921, when she joined Éamon de Valera in opposing the Anglo-Irish Treaty. She remained part of the Anti-Treaty side of Sinn Féin until joining de Valera in setting up Fianna Fáil in 1926. She was elected as a Fianna Fáil TD in June 1926 but died a year later.

Margaret Pearse, mother of Pádraig, was elected to the 2nd Dáil, in which she also opposed the Anglo-Irish Treaty. Kathleen Clarke, widow of Thomas, did the same thing and later joined Fianna Fáil. Mary McSwiney, sister of Terence, became 'de facto' leader of Anti-Treaty Sinn Féin after the Fianna Fáil split, but did not return to the Dáil. On the other side of the Treaty debate, Margaret Collins-O'Driscoll became the first female TD elected for Cumann na nGaedheal, the former Pro-Treaty Sinn Féin, in 1923. She lost her seat in the 1933 general election.

Party Key:
SF - Sinn Féin
Rep - Republican
CG - Cumann na nGaedheal
FF - Fianna Fáil 

Constance Markiewicz - Dublin St. Patrick's (SF)

Kathleen Clarke - Dublin Mid (SF)
Ada English - National University of Ireland (SF)
Constance Markiewicz - Dublin South (SF) 
Mary McSwiney - Cork Borough (SF)
Margaret Pearse - Dublin County (SF)

Mary McSwiney - Cork Borough (Anti-Treaty SF)
Kathleen O'Callaghan - Limerick City-Limerick East (Anti-Treaty SF)

Margaret Collins-O'Driscoll - Dublin North (CG)
Kathleen Lynn - Dublin County (Rep)
Constance Markiewicz - Dublin South (Rep)
Mary McSwiney - Cork Borough (Rep)

Caitlín Brugha - Waterford (SF)
Kathleen Clarke - Dublin North (FF)
Margaret Collins-O'Driscoll - Dublin North (CG)
Constance Markiewicz - Dublin South (FF)

Margaret Collins-O'Driscoll - Dublin North (CG)