2014 Local Elections Special: Defection of Labour Councillors 2011 - 2014

This is the first of a series of maps showcasing various aspects of local government and Irish European Parliament representation in the lead-up to the 2014 local and European elections.

Below is a map featuring the 28 (so far) Labour county, city and town councillors which have resigned their membership of the Labour Party since being elected in 2009.

The increasing number of resignations have been attributed to the actions of the Labour Party in Government, with many of the now-Independent councillors voicing their disapproval of various actions undertaken by their former party in coalition with Fine Gael. The resignations have attracted a lot of media attention, partlicularly throughout 2013 when 15 different councillors withdrew from the party at various points throughout the year. A full list of the councillors who have left the party can be seen below the map. Should you spot any errors or omissions, please contact me.

(With thanks to TheJournal.ie for their comprehensive list)

Town councils are represented by dots, they are not to scale. Only the town councils that have a councillor who has withdrawn from the Labour Party are shown on the map. This map will be updated to feature any future withdrawals before the election.

A guide to the local area districts can be found here.

List of Labour Party councillors who have left the party, 2011-2014

Tommy Stokes - Granard Town Council (Longford)
Gabrielle Egan - Clonmel Town Council (Tipperary)
Con Foley - Macroom Town Council (Cork)
Bobby Dunphy - New Ross Town Council (Wexford)

Mary Loftus, Mayor - Tuam Town Council (Galway)
Paul O'Shea - Ennis Town Council (Clare)
Darren Ryan - Clonmel District, South Tipperary County Council
Billy Bourke, Tipperary Town Council (Tipperary)
Aidan Pendlebury - Clonakilty Town Council (Cork)
Mae Sexton - Longford Town Council (Longford)
Tom Cashman - Midleton Town Council (Cork)

David Hynes - Wexford Town Council (Wexford)
Bobby Fitzgerald - Carrick-on-Suir Town Council (Tipperary)
Gráinne Kilmurry - Balbriggan Town Council (Fingal)
Gerry McLoughlin - East District, Limerick City Council
Tom Fortune - Greystones District, Wicklow County Counci
Barry Nevin - Bray District, Wicklow County Council
Shaun Cunniffe - Tuam District, Galway County Council
Jenny McHugh - Navan District, Meath County Council
Cian O'Callaghan - Howth-Malahide District, Fingal County Council
Damian Molyneaux - Newbridge Town Council (Kildare)
Thomas Redmond - Athy Town Council (Kildare)
Frank Fahy - Skibbereen Town Council (Cork)
Frank McBrearty, Jr. - Stranorlar District, Donegal County Council
Seán O'Grady - Killarney Town Council (Kerry)
Paddy Bourke - Artane District, Dublin City Council
Jimmy O'Shaughnessy - Wicklow District, Wicklow County Council

Dermot Looney - Tallaght Central District, South Dublin County Council
Jerry Mullally - Mallow Town Council (Cork)