The geographic distribution of the 29th Government of Ireland (2011 - )

These two maps show the geographic composition of both the current Cabinet and the Ministers of State. Maps of previous Cabinets will follow.

The current Cabinet is quite Dublin-centric, with 9 out of 15 ministers representing different parts of Dublin city and county. The constituency of Dublin West is in the unique position of being home to two Cabinet ministers: Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton (Labour) and Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport Leo Varadkar (Fine Gael).

The Cabinet's only member from Connacht is the Taoiseach, Mayo TD Enda Kenny, while no Ulster TDs have ministerial roles. This is largely made up for by the composition of the Ministers of State, 4 of whom come from Connacht and Ulster, with another two in the Midlands.

Click on the image to see it full-sized.